top of page

Blueberry Scones


Blueberry Scones

One of my favorite Breakfasts or snacks is blueberry scones. Scones are some what like muffins but made as a loaf instead of in a muffin tin.

I like to make these whenever I can get my hands on blueberries. I actually have a few blueberry bushes in my yard but they were planted last year, along side the strawberry tower, and havent completely matured yet to give me enough blueberries to do anything except just pick them and eat them when I am working in my garden. Hopefully this year I will get a decent crop.

I picked up a container at my local farm market yesterday and decided to make a batch of these scones, so here is my recipe.

Get the Recipe in pdf format here > Blueberry Scones

 

  • 2 C flour

  • ¼ C sugar

  • 1 tsp baking powder

  • ¼ tsp salt

  • 2 tbsp. butter

  • 1 egg

  • 1 tsp vanilla

  • ½ C yogurt of any fruit flavor or plain, regular or Greek

  • ¼ C almond milk

  • ¼ C quinoa cooked

  • 1 C fresh or frozen blueberries

Directions

Preheat oven to 375.

Cover cookie sheet with parchment paper, set aside.

Mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Cut butter into flour mixture until it looks crumbly.

Make a well in the middle of the flour mixture add egg, vanilla, yogurt, quinoa and milk and mix till just combined. Mix in Blueberries. Turn out on a lightly floured surface and knead dough gently 4 or 5 times. Cut in half and press into two 7" circles. Place on cookie sheet covered with parchment paper. Cut in into 4 or 8 sections. Sprinkle with a little raw sugar before cooking.

Cook 15 to 20 minutes or until tops are slightly browned.

Nutritional Info

Servings per Recipe: 8

Amount per Serving

Calories: 217.2

Total Fat: 4.2 g

Cholesterol: 31.5 mg

Sodium: 173.9 mg

Total Carbs: 38.4 g

Dietary Fiber: 2.2 g

Protein: 6.1 g


bottom of page