top of page

Irish Soda Bread


For all of my Irish friends out there, here is my recipe for my fool proof Irish Soda Bread. Every year the stores near me have a run on this stuff like its really hard to make. Then you get versions of it that are just really yucky.

This is my tried and true one and only recipe for this St Patricks Day Staple. I hope you like it as much as I do!

Happy St Patricks Day!

Get the Recipe in pdf format here > Irish Soda Bread

 

2 cups Flour

5 tbsp. sugar

1 and 1/2 tsp Baking powder

1 tsp salt

3/4 tsp Baking Soda

3 tbsp. butter

1 cup milk

2/3 cup raisins

Preheat oven 375

Line cookie sheet with Parchment paper

Whisk together flour, 4 tbsp. sugar, baking powder, salt, baking soda.

Add butter and pinch between fingers until butter and flour mixture is the consistency of dry oatmeal.

Make a well in the middle of the flour mixture add milk, and stir in raisins, mix together to form a sticky dough.

Flour hands and shape dough into a ball, place on cookie sheet.

Sprinkle last tbsp. of sugar over dough ball

Bake for about 40 minutes till golden brown.


bottom of page